Humboldt County Iowa

Humboldt County Iowa - Land Between Two Rivers

Licenses & Registrations

ATV, ORV, orm & SNOWMOBILE REGISTRATIONS & TITLES:

ATV, ORV, ORM and Snowmobile registrations expire December 31 of each year.  A yearly registration is $17.75.  A penalty of $5.00 is applied to any registration that is not renewed by the expiration date.

Titles are issued for all Off-highway vehicles and Snowmobiles.  The title fee is $11.50 and the lien fee is $11.50 if applicable.  Duplicate titles are available for $11.50 with a 5 day waiting period after applying. 

When you puchase an ATV, ORV, ORM or Snowmobile from an individual, by law, they must give you a registration, title (both signed on back by owner/owners) and a bill of sale in order to transfer ownership.  Ownership should be transferred within 30 days to avoid a penalty.  Sales tax will be collected on the purchase price effective July 1, 2009.

When you purchase a new ATV, ORV, ORM or Snowmobile, you must provide a sales receipt and the Manufacturer's Statement of Origin to show proof of ownership and that sales tax was paid. 

Go to www.iowadnr.gov for more information on the laws and regulations of off-highway vehicles and snowmobiles.

BOAT REGISTRATIONS & TITLES:

Boat registrations can be renewed January 1st to April 30th of every 3rd year registration period.  A penalty of $5.00 is applied to any registration that is not renewed by the expiration date.  Renewal fees are based on the length of the boat.

Boat titles are issued for boats 17 feet in length or longer.  In addition, financial institutions can require titles for boats less than 17 feet in order to put a lien on a boat.  The boat title is $12.75 and a Lien fee of $12.75 if applicable.

2016-2019 Boat Registration Fees

Transfer Fee:  $3.75 plus $12.75 Title & $12.75 Lien if applicable

Duplicate Registration Fee:  $3.75

Duplicate Title Fee:  $12.75 (5 day waiting period after applying)

When you purchase a boat from an individual, by law, they must give you a registration, title, (if the boat is titled)(both signed on back by owner/owners) and a bill of sale in order to transfer ownership.  Ownership should be transferred within 30 days to avoid a penalty.  Sales tax will be collected on the amount of sale.

When you purchase a new boat, you must provide a sales receipt and the Manufacturer's Statement of Origin to show proof of ownership and that sales tax was paid. 

Go to www.iowadnr.gov for more information on the laws and regulations of Boats.


HUNTING & FISHING LICENSES:


Iowa Resident Licenses:

          Fishing $19.00 
          7-day Fishing  $13.50 
          1-day Fishing  $9.50 
          Trout Fee  $12.50 
          Hunting  $19.00 
          Habitat Fee  $13.00 
          Migratory Fee (Waterfowl)  $10.00 
          Federal Duck Stamp  $15.00 
          Lifetime Fishing  $52.50 
          Lifetime Hunting  $52.50 
          Fur Harvester (Under 16)  $7.50 
          Fur Harvester (16+)  $22.50 
          Resident Deer Tag  $28.50 
          Resident Turkey Tag  $24.50


         

Non-Resident Licenses:

          Fishing (16+)(Season)  $41.00 
          7-day Fishing  $32.00 
          3-day Fishing  $17.50 
          1-day Fishing  $10.50 
          Trout Fee  $15.00 
          Hunting (18+)  $112.00 
          Hunting (Under 18) $32.00 
          Hunting Habitat  $13.00 
          Migratory Fee (Waterfowl)  $10.00 
          Fur Harvester  $202.00 

 

Go to www.iowadnr.gov for additional license fees not listed and for more information about Iowa Boat, Snowmobile and OHV Registrations, hunting and fishing.